By Amanda Wicks

Tom PettyElvis Costello and Marvin Gaye are among the songwriters who will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Nile Rodgers, Chip Taylor and Bernard Edwards have also been announced as 2016 inductees. Interestingly, there are no women songwriters on the list.

Related: Tom Petty Admits to Being a Heroin Addict in the 1990s

Co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff said about the musicians nominated, “The 2016 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a beautiful mosaic of the best of late 20th Century popular music. With creators of Rock & Roll, Soul/R&B, Country and Funk/Dance represented, we are looking forward to an unforgettable and extremely exciting event and evening at the Marriott Marquis on June 9th,” according to the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s website.

They added, “With the exception of [Gaye and Edwards], all of the 2016 inductees are alive and continue to be as vitally creative as ever.”

The 2016 ceremony will take place on Thursday, June 9th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live