Eagles, Carole King, George Lucas Lead Kennedy Center Honorees

By Brian Ives 

Legendary rock band the Eagles, iconic singer-songwriter Carole King and filmmaker and Star Wars creator George Lucas lead this year’s Kennedy Center honorees. Other honorees include actress/singer Rita Moreno, conductor Seiji Ozawa and Broadway star Cicely Tyson.

The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors will be take place on Decmeber 6, and will be taped for broadcast on Tuesday December 29 at 9 pm ET/PT on CBS (the parent company of Radio.com).

Related: Eagles Announce Summer U.S. Tour Dates

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein said in a statement, “The music of the Eagles has endured as the quintessential American rock and roll sound for generations; Carole King’s heartfelt lyrics and tunes are woven throughout the tapestry of American music; George Lucas’ films have enriched our world with stories of epic adventure; Rita Moreno’s iconic spitfire roles are embedded in the heart of American culture; Seiji Ozawa’s artistic leadership as a conductor has set a new standard for orchestras around the world; and Cicely Tyson’s range of strong female roles on stage and screen have broken boundaries for women of color.”

The ceremony sees the honorees watching the ceremony while other artists pay tribute to them; for example, when Led Zeppelin were honored in 2012, the Foo Fighters, Kid Rock, Lenny Kravitz and Heart performed their songs.

There’s no word yet as to which members of the Eagles will be honored: the current lineup includes Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Timothy B. Schmit and Joe Walsh; former members include Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner and Don Felder. Felder, in particular, has had a contentious relationship with his former bandmates.

The induction ceremony comes right as the next Star Wars installment will be hitting theaters, although Lucas, who is retired, is only credited as a “creative consultant” on the film.



Visit Full Site