By Courtney E. Smith

Footage from the Showtime  documentary Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, which captures the recording of the New Basement Tapes album, has surfaced.

In the clip, Elvis Costello plays band leader to the New Basement Tapes, which includes Marcus Mumford of Mumford & Sons, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Rhiannon Giddens of Carolina Chocolate Drops and Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, along with producer T Bone Burnett, while they record a rollocking take on the track, “Six Months in Kansas City (Liberty Street).”

Related: The New Basement Tapes Drop ‘Liberty Street’ Lyric Video: Watch

This project sees the supergroup taking on Bob Dylan’s lyrics from the Basement Tapes, setting them to fresh music. The documentary, set to accompany the album’s release, will give a behind the scenes look into the recording process.

RELATED: Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford & Jim James Tackle Unreleased Dylan Lyrics

The Showtime doc is set to air on Nov. 21 at 9 p.m. ET. The New Basement Tapes’ album is in stores on Nov. 11. 





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live