Doobie Brothers Reveal Star-Studded Tracklist For New Album, ‘Southbound’

By Shannon Carlin

By now, you know that the Doobie Brothers new album Southbound has the band putting a new spin on their classic hits by calling on a few of their country friends. But today (Aug. 7) the band finally revealed exactly which songs those famous musician friends of theirs are playing on.

The 12-track record, out Nov. 4, features Zac Brown Band on “Black Water,” Chris Young helping out on “China Grove” and Blake Shelton singing on “Listen to the Music” with Hunter Hayes on guitar.

Related: Doobie Brothers Announce Lineup for Tribute Album ‘Southbound,’ Including Blake Shelton, Hunter Hayes

In an interview earlier this year with, Sara Evans – who sings on “What a Fool Believes”—expressed her excitement to be a part of the album.

“They’re singing all their hits with different artists and they let me choose which song I wanted to sing,” she told “Sometimes I’ll think things through before I answer questions or requests like that, but I immediately wrote back, ‘Yes of course! I love the Doobie Brothers!'”

Apparently, Evans wasn’t the only one who just couldn’t say no.

Check out the full tracklist for the album, out Nov. 4, below.

Southbound Tracklisting
1. “Black Water” with Zac Brown Band
2. “China Grove” with Chris Young
3. “Jesus Is Just Alright” with Casey James
4. “Listen to the Music” with Blake Shelton and Hunter Hayes on guitar
5. “Long Train Runnin’” with Toby Keith
6. “Nobody” with Charlie Worsham
7. “Rockin’ Down the Highway” with Brad Paisley
8. “South City Midnight Lady” with Jerrod Niemann
9. “Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)” with Tyler Farr
10. “Takin’ It to the Streets” with Love and Theft
11. “What a Fool Believes” with Sara Evans
12. “You Belong to Me” with Amanda Sudano Ramirez of the band Johnnyswim with Vince Gill on guitar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live