2014 CMT Awards: Backflips, Paint Wars and Guest Crossovers Take Over Nashville

By Annie Reuter

From the moment the CMT Music Awards hit Nashville last night (June 4), the ceremony was already kicked into high gear with a long medley of guest performances and mashups.

To start, ZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons and bassist Dusty Hill took the stage at Bridgestone Arena to perform “La Grange” before Florida Georgia Line‘s Brian Kelley and Tyler Hubbard joined them for the classic tune.

Popping up from the stage, the country duo took over with “This Is How We Roll” with Luke Bryan and surprise guest Jason Derulo. As the song wrapped, Derulo and his crew of dancers transitioned into “Talk Dirty” with FGL and Bryan dancing along.

Gallery: CMT Awards Red Carpet & Backstage

The CMT Awards took place right as Derulo and Florida Georgia Line released a remix of the song, perhaps attempting to capitalize on the success garnered from last year’s “Cruise” remix with Nelly that earned the group its first crossover hit.

Listen below to the official remix of “This is How We Roll,” featuring Derulo.

Other highlights during the award show included another performance of Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood‘s edgy “Somethin’ Bad,” as well as Eric Church‘s rendition of his hard-rocking “That’s Damn Rock & Roll” with Lzzy Hale of Halestorm.

Maintaining the collaborative spirit,  Hunter Hayes, Sugarland‘s Jennifer Nettles and John Legend joined for Legend’s big hit “All of Me.”

Additionally there were some theatrics during the show. After preforming his hit “Bottoms Up,” Brantley Gilbert did a back-flip off the drum kit. And Little Big Town debuted their new single “Day Drinking” amidst a storm of colorful paint.

Alan Jackson was also in the house to receive the ceremony’s inaugural Impact Award. To honor the veteran performer and songwriter, Kacey Musgraves joined forces with Lee Ann Womack to perform Jackson’s 1994 hit “Livin’ on Love.”

CMT Music Awards 2014 winners list:

Video of the Year: Carrie Underwood’s “See You Again”
Duo Video of the Year: Florida Georgia Line’s “Round Here”
Female Video of the Year: Miranda Lambert’s “Automatic”
Collaborative Video of the Year: Florida Georgia Line Featuring Luke Bryan “This Is How We Roll”
CMT Performance of the Year: Luke Bryan and Lionel Richie “Oh No/All Night Long” (From 2013 CMT Artists of the Year)
Male Video of the Year: Blake Shelton’s “Doin’ What She Likes”
Breakthrough Video of the Year: Cassadee Pope’s “Wasting All These Tears”
Group Video of the Year: The Band Perry’s “DONE.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Radio.com | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live