Willie Nelson’s New Album ‘Band of Brothers’ Coming in June – Hear a New Song

"It’s good to be writing again."

By Kurt Wolff

He may be 81 years old, but Willie Nelson is still proving himself to be one of the most prolific artists in country music. On June 17, Nelson will release his latest studio album, Band of Brothers.

Recent releases have consisted mostly of cover songs, including last year’s To All the Girls…, a collection of duets with artists such as Dolly Parton and Miranda Lambert. On Band of Brothers, though, nine of the album’s 14 tracks are new Nelson originals (see the full track listing below).

One of the songs, “The Wall,” is currently streaming on his website and is also now available for sale. “I had been on tour, and, the next thing you know, I hit the wall,” Nelson told Rolling Stone. “It turns out it’s a pretty good song.”

Related: Willie Nelson is on tour with Alison Krauss — see all cities and dates

While he’s released many records over the past couple decades, Band of Brothers is especially notable as it’s Nelson’s first album of mostly new material since his 1996 album Spirit. “I got on kind of a writing kick,” Nelson said in a press statement, “it’s good to be writing again.”

Additional songs on the album include a version of Vince Gill’s “Whenever You Come Around,” Billy Joe Shaver’s “The Git Go” (a duet with Jamey Johnson) and Gordie Sampson and Bill Anderson’s composition “Songwriter.”

Willie Nelson Band of Brothers track list:

01. Bring It On (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
02. Guitar in the Corner (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
03. The Wall (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
04. Whenever You Come Around (Vince Gill/Pete Wasner)
05. Wives and Girlfriends (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
06. I Thought I Left You (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
07. Send Me a Picture (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
08. Used to Her (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
09. The Git Go (Billy Joe Shaver/Gary Nicholson)
10. Band of Brothers (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
11. Hard to Be an Outlaw (Billy Joe Shaver)
12. Crazy Like Me (Dennis Morgan/Shawn Camp/Billy Burnette)
13. The Songwriters (Gordie Sampson/Bill Anderson)
14. I’ve Got a Lot of Traveling to Do (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live