Iggy Pop, Thurston Moore and Nick Cave Team Up for Gun Club Cover

By Courtney E. Smith

It’s quite the supergroup performance put together on an absolutely remarkable track. Iggy Pop and Nick Cave handle vocal duties while Thurston Moore lays down the guitar and Bad Seeds drummer Jim Sclavunos provides the rhythm on this interpretation of Gun Club’s “Nobody’s City.”

Iggy opens the track with a shout to Jeffrey Lee Pierce, Gun Club’s frontman who died in 1996 from a brain hemorrhage. The track is from the third installment of the Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project, titled Axels and Sockets that will be released on May 3. It will also include tracks by Debbie Harry, Mark Lanegan, Lydia Lunch, Warren Ellis, Mick Harvey, Kid Congo Powers and Primal Scream.

In a statement on the Glitterhouse Records website, a description says, “the Project again strives to pay homage by avoiding the clichés of the conventional tribute record, creating fierce, iconoclastic new music out of song sketches, demo recordings, scribbled lyrics and leftover riffs Jeffrey tragically didn’t live to complete, while some put their own spin on personal favourites from his esteemed catalogue.”

Listen to the track below:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live