Hear the New Dolly Parton Song ‘Blue Smoke’

By Kurt Wolff

“I’ve just about had all the heartache I can stand,” sings Dolly Parton in her new song “Blue Smoke.” The title track of her upcoming album, the song is now available to hear via a lyric video — watch it below.

Written by Parton, “Blue Smoke” is a breakup song about splitting up and getting gone. But rather than adopting a dour tone, the song is deliberately upbeat, set to a peppy bluegrass-based melody. Parton isn’t going to sit around and mope, even if her guy did do her wrong; she’s bummed, but she’s taking action. “Just stay on track and never look back,” she sings. The song features gospel-style vocal harmonies, hand claps and even a fiddle breakdown.

Nearly all of the 12 songs on the album Blue Smoke were written exclusively by Parton. Exceptions include a version of Bob Dylan‘s “Don’t Think Twice”; the traditional folk song “Banks of the Ohio”; “Lay Your Hands on Me,” which Parton cowrote with Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora; and “You Can’t Make Old Friends,” her duet with Kenny Rogers that was penned by Ryan Hanna King, Don Schlitz, Caitlyn Smith. The album also features a duet with Willie Nelson, “From Here to the Moon and Back” (see the full track listing below).

Related: Watch Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton duet on “You Can’t Make Old Friends”

“On this CD I think there are all of the colors of my life in all the areas of music that you’ve allowed me to dabble in through the years,” Parton said in a press statement. “You will hear my old world mountain voice on songs like ‘Banks of The Ohio’ and ‘If I Had Wings,’ my tender side on songs like ‘Miss You – Miss Me’ and ‘Unlikely Angel.’ My country/bluegrass side of songs like ‘Home,’ ‘Blue Smoke’ and ‘Don’t Think Twice’ and my funny tongue-in-cheek side on ‘Lover du Jour.'”

Related: Dolly Parton to play Glastonbury Festival

Parton is also touring this year. She was in Australia and New Zealand last month, and later this spring and summer she has a series of U.S. and European dates on her agenda as well.

Blue Smoke is scheduled for release in the U.S. and Europe on May 13.

Blue Smoke track listing:

01. Blue Smoke
02. Unlikely Angel
03. Don’t Think Twice
04. You Can’t Make Old Friends (duet with Kenny Rogers)
05. Home
06. Banks of the Ohio
07. Lay Your Hands on Me
08. Miss You – Miss Me
09. If I Had Wings
10. Lover du Jour
11. From Here to the Moon and Back (duet with Willie Nelson)
12. Try

dolly parton blue smoke (Courtesy: Webster & Associates)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live