Merle Haggard’s ‘Okie from Muskogee’ to Get 45th Anniversary Reissue

By Kurt Wolff

Any list of the most enduring songs in country music history needs to include Merle Haggard. And if you can only pick one song, it almost has to be “Okie from Muskogee.”

Written and recorded by the Country Music Hall of Fame member, “Okie” hit the airwaves in the politically charged year of 1969, when Nixon had just been elected, the Civil Rights Act was only five years old, hippies were pouring into San Francisco and the Vietnam War was in full swing. The song quickly became a No. 1 smash hit for Haggard — as did the album of the same name, which was recorded live in Muskogee, Oklahoma and appeared later that same year.

On March 25 of this year, the entire Okie from Muskogee album will get a full reissue in honor of its 45th anniversary. As a bonus, a second disc will feature another live Haggard album, The Fightin’ Side of Me, which was originally issued in 1970. See the full track listing for both discs below.

Was “Okie from Muskogee” a polarizing song? Absolutely. The lyrics baited hippies (“We don’t smoke marijuana in Muskogee,” goes the famed opening line) and appealed immediately to conservatives and small-town Middle Americans (the so-called “silent majority”) who considered themselves the moral foundation of an increasingly divided nation.

So while the “hippies out in San Francisco” might “let their hair grow long and shaggy” (as Haggard sang), Muskogee represented “a place where even squares can have a ball.” And, of course, where “leather boots are still in style for manly footwear.”

“The Fightin’ Side of Me,” Haggard’s followup single, was another song that seemed tailor-made for conservatives — especially those fed up with war protests and draft dodgers. “If you don’t love it leave it, let this song that I’m singing be a warning,” Haggard sings, “If you’re running down my country, man, you’re walking on the fightin’ side of me.”

Toby Keith, as you might imagine, is a fan:

Besides those two landmark tracks, the double-album reissue includes live versions of many more Haggard classics, including “Swinging Doors,” the gentle ballad “Silver Wings,” the prison song “Sing Me Back Home,” blue-collar anthem “Workin’ Man’s Blues” and a song that brilliantly represents his troubled early life, “Mama Tried.” The Fightin’ Side album also veers into vintage country territory, including covers of songs by such Haggard heroes as Bob Wills, the Maddox Brothers and Rose, and Jimmie Rodgers.

Both albums have been remastered from the original analog tapes.

Track listing for the Okie from Muskogee Anniversary Edition:

Disc 1
Okie From Muskogee
Recorded Live In Muskogee, Oklahoma 1969
1. Introduction by Carlton Haney
2. Mama Tried
3. No Hard Times
4. Silver Wings
5. Merle Receives Key To Muskogee
6. Mere’s Introduction to Medley
7. Swinging Doors
8. I’m A Lonesome Fugitive
9. Sing Me Back Home
10. Branded Man
11. In The Arms Of Love
12. Workin’ Man Blues
13. Merle’s Introduction To “Hobo Bill”
14. Hobo Bill’s Last Ride
15. Billy Overcame His Size
16. If I Had Left It Up To You
17. White Line Fever
18. Blue Rock
19. Introduction To “Okie From Muskogee”
20. Okie From Muskogee

Disc 2
The Fightin’ Side Of Me
Recorded Live in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 1970

1. Opening Theme: Hammin’ It Up
2. I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am
3. Corrine Corrina
4. Every Fool Has A Rainbow
5. T.B. Blues
6. When Did Right Become So Wrong
7. Philadelphia Lawyer
8. Stealin’ Corn
9. Harold’s Super Service
10. Devil Woman
11. I’m Movin’ On
12. Folsom Prison Blues
13. Jackson
14. Orange Blossom Special
15. Love’s Gonna Live Here
16. Today I Started Loving You Again
17. Okie From Muskogee
18. The Fightin’ Side Of Me


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live