By Shannon Carlin
(Jeoffrey Maitem/Getty Images)

Justin Bieber visits the Philippines. (Jeoffrey Maitem/Getty Images)

Justin Bieber is in the news again, but this time it’s not for graffiti or abandoning his monkey or insulting Bill Clinton. No, this time it’s for something noble.

After Bieber posted a video last week asking fans to give back to those in the Philippines affected by Supertyphoon Haiyan, the Beliebers reacted, emptying their piggy banks for a good cause. By Tuesday (December 10), the fans had given more than $640,000 to the fundraising platform Prizeo to aid the relief efforts, with five days still remaining on the donation drive.

While all the money is going to a good cause, some might have been swayed by Bieber’s promise that those who donated would be in the running for a chance to hang out with him in L.A. next year while he works on his upcoming album. “I want you guys to come help me in the studio, give me some ideas,” he says in the video. “But first you guys got to give back.”

Before the final date of his Believe World Tour in Manila on Tuesday (December 10), Bieber visited those who were most affected by the storm, which is believed to have killed nearly 6,000 and left millions homeless.

Bieber later urged fans to keep giving in hopes to reach their million dollar goal, tweeting that he had seen the “devastation first hand… they need our help.” He also posted a photo of him with kids from Jose Elementary School  in Tacloban, Leyte, Philippines, writing “true happiness.”

Bieber wraps up his busy 2013 with a limited-edition album, Journals, which will feature the ten songs from his recent Music Mondays series including “Heartbreaker,” “All That Matters,” and “PYD” with R. Kelly, according to Billboard. 

The release — available from December 16th until January 2nd on iTunes —  will also include five additional previously unreleased tracks, which feature production work by Diplo and guest spots from Big SeanLil Wayne and Future. Two videos and the trailer for his 3-D documentary film, Believe (out Christmas day), will also be included in the Journals package.

Check out the tracklist for Journals below.

1. “Heartbreaker”
2. “All That Matters”
3. “Hold Tight”
4. “Recovery”
5. “Bad Day”
6. “All Bad”
7. “PYD” feat. R. Kelly
8. “Roller Coaster”
9. “Change Me”
10. “Confident” feat. Chance the Rapper
11. “One Life”
12. “Backpack” feat. Lil Wayne
13. “What’s Hatnin’” feat. Future
14. “Swap It Out”
15. “Memphis” feat. Big Sean
16. “All That Matters” (music video)
17. Believe theatrical trailer
18. Guatemala Pencils of Promise Journal Video


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live