Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album ‘High Hopes’

Author: Brian Ives

(Provided Photo)

At midnight Sunday (November 25) Bruce Springsteen announced his new album, High Hopes, via his Facebook page and Twitter account, which will be released January 14, 2014.

The post asked, “Got #HighHopes for a new Springsteen album in 2014?” and added the tracklisting.

As previously reported, the title track is the same song that he covered in 1996 for the Blood Brothers EP, and several other songs from High Hopes have turned up in other capacities over the years, including Springsteen’s controversial “American Skin (41 Shots),” which he first started playing in 2000 following the death of Amadou Diallo. A live version of that song has been included on both Live In New York City and The Essential Bruce Springsteen, but  he’s never released a studio version.

Also included is his cover of post-punk band Suicide’s “Dream Baby Dream”  and “The Ghost Of Tom Joad,” the title track of his 1995 album, which was been covered in the past by Rage Against the Machine. It’s one of the few songs on the album that doesn’t feature Morello on guitar, singing duet with Springsteen. According to Amazon’s product description, Morello is on eight songs, and the album also includes appearances on several songs by Clarence Clemons, who passed away in 2011, and Danny Federici, who passed away in 2008. Springsteen is quoted in the description as calling the songs “some of our best unreleased material from the past decade.”

Amazon has the album available for pre-order, with “High Hopes” and “Dream Baby Dream” available now.

Check out the tracklist and album art for High Hopes below:

High Hopes tracklist:

01. High Hopes
02. Harry’s Place
03. American Skin (41 Shots)
04. Just Like Fire Would
05. Down In The Hole
06. Heaven’s Wall
07. Frankie Fell In Love
08. This Is Your Sword
09. Hunter Of Invisible Game
10. The Ghost of Tom Joad
11. The Wall
12. Dream Baby Dream
Visit Full Site