"Let's hear it for the old school soundtrack!" - Lars Ulrich

Metallica will peel off the music from their forthcoming 3D feature film, Metallica Through The Never, and release it as a stand-alone two disc set on September 24, just days before the movie hits IMAX theaters nationwide.

Set to be released on Blackened Recordings, the band’s own label, on September 24th, the dual discs highlight last 2012’s career-spanning sets at Rexall Place in Edmonton and Rogers Arena in Vancouver, where the band filmed all performance footage featured in the movie.

Audiophiles will revel with the news of the sound track’s vinyl edition. Both 33 1/3 RPM and special limited numbered 45 RPM versions will be available later in the fall. See below for a complete track listing.

“Let’s hear it for the old school soundtrack!” said drummer Lars Ulrich on the band’s website. Not only are we beyond psyched about our movie coming your way shortly, but the fact that we get to share the music directly in all these formats is way f**kin’ cool.”

“The sound is insanely great…  it sounds giant,” exclaimed Ulrich to Radio.com of the film’s soundtrack and score.

Metallica accepted more than their fair share of attention at San Diego’s Comic Con two weekends ago (July  19) when all four members, plus director Nimród Antal and the film’s star Dane DeHaan took part in a panel in front of 6,500 adoring fans inside San Diego Convention Center’s massive Hall H. At the end of the thirty-minute panel, it was revealed that concert tickets to that evening’s “secret show” would be distributed via raffle. Just hours later the band would find themselves playing just blocks away at the historic Spreckels Theatre in downtown San Diego.

Metallica: Through The Never will be released by Picturehouse in North America on September 27, 2013, exclusively in 300+ IMAX 3D theaters before expanding to additional theaters on October 4, 2013. Advance tickets are already available on Fandango.

Metallica Through The Never track list:

Disc 1

01. The Ecstasy Of Gold
02. Creeping Death
03. For Whom The Bell Tolls
04. Fuel
05. Ride The Lightning
06. One
07. The Memory Remains
08. Wherever I May Roam
09. Cyanide
10. …And Justice For All

Disc 2

01. Master Of Puppets
02. Battery
03. Nothing Else Matters
04. Enter Sandman
05. Hit The Lights
06. Orion


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Radio.com | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live