By Scott T. Sterling

Yesterday (April 15), Daft Punk released the latest in a series of videos featuring artists who they collaborated with for their highly anticipated fourth studio album, Random Access Memories, set for release on May 21.

In this latest clip, Pharrell Williams (who only refers to the dance duo as “the robots”) discusses how the collaboration came together after the two entities ran into each other at a party hosted by Madonna, eventually connecting in Paris to work on music.

It was during that session that Williams says Daft Punk gave him a mysterious pill that not only gave him a burst of energy in the recording session, but also erased any memory of it from his brain.

“Because I was just so tired and extremely jet lagged, they gave me this table that you put in water, you know, more on the holistic side, it doesn’t have the crash or whatever,” Williams said. He goes on to say that the pill gave him a “burst of energy,” as well as a little something extra.

“By the time I got back on the plane to America, I had forgotten everything,” the Neptunes producer and N*E*R*D frontman continued. “Still to this day, I can’t figure out was it really the jet lag or did the robots sort of hit me with the Men in Black, like, ‘you will remember nothing of this.’”


Williams raves about the finished album, saying, “you don’t need MDMA for this music, because the music is so incredibly vivid. It’s kind of like the mid-‘70s early ‘80s of a different universe and dimension, not of this one.”

While fans count the days until the May 21 release date, Daft Punk’s label, Columbia Records took to Vine to release the official tracklist for Random Access Memories, seen below.


Random Access Memories track list

  1. Give Life Back to Music
  2. The Game of Love
  3. Giorgio by Moroder
  4. Within
  5. Instant Crush
  6. Lose Yourself to Dance
  7. Touch
  8. Get Lucky
  9. Beyond
  10. Motherboard
  11. Fragments of Time
  12. Doin’ It Right
  13. Contact

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From | Music, Sports, News and More. Start Listening Now

Miranda Pet Posts DL
Taylor Swift Revenge
Greatest American Idol

Listen Live